Book Review 📚: The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse by Charlie Mackesy

I’ve been following Charlie‘s Instagram account for a while when by the end of 2019 he announced he will release a book collecting many of his published work on his page. I really wanted to get a copy, I ordered the copy around my birthday but got it on October 14, 2020.

لقد كنت أتابع حساب حساب شارلي على الانستغرام لفترة من الوقت عندما أعلن بحلول نهاية عام 2019 أنه سيصدر كتابًا يجمع العديد من أعماله المنشورة على صفحته. أردت حقًا الحصول على نسخة ، لقد طلبت النسخة في يوم عيد ميلادي ولكنني حصلت عليها في 14 أكتوبر 2020

Charlie says in his book that he doesn’t think of himself as a writer but I think he is. His four characters: a boy, fox, horse and mole and friends. each sketch tells a wise and deep saying about life. I think his message is very clear and beautiful. His works speaks to anyone no matter their age. There is no actual story, it’s like a book of inspirational quotes. I paused at many of them and thought deeply about some, other pieces stopped me because of their utter beauty. I loved his handwriting, it’s very artistic and truly beautiful. I think I’ll try my hand at imitating some of his work, when I do, insha’a Allah I will be posting some of them here.

يقول تشارلي في كتابه إنه لا يعتبر نفسه كاتبًا ولكن أعتقد أنه كذلك. شخصياته الأربعة: الولد والثعلب والحصان والخلد أصدقاء. كل رسم يروي مقولة حكيمة وعميقة عن الحياة. أعتقد أن رسالته واضحة وجميلة للغاية. تتحدث أعماله إلى أي شخص مهما كان عمره. لا توجد قصة حقيقية ، إنها مثل كتاب من الاقتباسات الملهمة. توقفت عند العديد منهم وفكرت بعمق في بعض القطع الأخرى ، أستوقفتني بعضها بسبب جمالها المطلق. لقد أحببت خط يده ، إنه فني للغاية وجميل حقًا. أعتقد أنني سأحاول تقليد بعض أعماله ، عندما أقوم بذلك ، إن شاء الله سأقوم بنشر بعضها هنا

Always remember you matter, you’re important and you are loved, and you bring to this world things no one else can.

تذكر دوماً أنك مهم، وأنك محبوب، وأنك تعطي العالم أشياء لا يستطيع شخص أخر أعطائها.

What do you want to be when you grow up?
“Kind”, said the boy.

ماذا تريد أن تصبح عندما تكبر؟
“طيب” قال الولد.

Leave a comment